Guideline 2-15: Use of College Vehicles

General Guidelines

  • College vehicles may be used only for college business.
  • All operators of College vehicles must be at least 18 years of age and hold a currently valid Texas driver's license appropriate for the intended usage of the vehicle.
  • All operators of College vehicles must be determined to be eligible for coverage under the College's insurance policies prior to the operation of a vehicle.
  • All operators of College vehicles must successfully complete the SJC Safe Driver’s Training Course every three years.
  • The designated driver shall be responsible for operating the vehicle in accordance with all vehicle, parking and traffic regulations.
  • The designated drivers as well as the vehicles occupants shall be responsible to adhere to all SJC Safety Guidelines.
  • Mechanical failure or damage due to the negligence of the driver shall be the responsibility of the user department or recognized student organization.
  • Insurance cards are located on the sun visor of all college vehicles as well as included in the Vehicle Information Packet located in the storage compartment.
  • College vehicles, including buses, may not be used for travel to destinations more than 750 miles from campus. "Out-of-town" is defined as destinations outside a 75-mile radius from the campus of departure. "Local" is defined as destinations within a 75-mile radius from the campus of departure.  College vehicles may not be driven and are not insured for use in Canada and Mexico.
  • Firearms, ammunition, and/or explosives may not be transported in College vehicles.
  • Alcoholic beverages and/or illegal narcotics may not be transported or consumed in College vehicles.
  • Tobacco products may not be consumed in College vehicles.

Driver's Requirements and Verification

A College Driver is a person who operates a college owned, rented, leased, or personal vehicle on a permanent or intermittent basis as a requirement of their job function.

  • No College Driver shall operate a college owned, rented, or leased vehicle without having a signed Request to Drive a College Vehicle form on file with the Insurance Specialists in the Purchasing Office and an acceptable driving record as confirmed by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
  • All College Drivers shall be in compliance with licensing and classification requirements of the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. 
  • No person may drive a college motor vehicle without having a valid Texas Driver's license in their possession with applicable endorsements and valid classification for the vehicle they are driving. The driving license shall be in their possession. 
  • No person whose license has been revoked or suspended shall be permitted to operate a motor vehicle as a College Driver without obtaining a valid license through the proper reinstatement procedures.
  • *A College Driver who is charged with violating any state law or local ordinance relating to motor traffic control, in this or any other state while driving a college vehicle, shall notify the Insurance Specialist in the Purchasing Office before the end of the next business day following the day of the violation.
  • *A College Driver involved in a motor vehicle accident involving injuries to any party involved must notify the Safety Office and Campus Police Departments as soon as possible after the incident.
  • Any College Driver, who has their license suspended, revoked, or canceled, must notify the Insurance Specialist in the Purchasing Office of the fact immediately during operating hours, or upon the start of the next business day.
  • All reports and violation records shall be confidential and maintained by the driver's department for a period of three years.
  • Driver's License Audits – Upon initial application to drive a college vehicle and at other times as appropriate, the college shall conduct driver's license audits of all employees who operate college motor vehicles.  While the college reserves the right to modify acceptable standards, currently an acceptable driver must have:
  • No major violations in the last three (3) years – (DWI, Vehicular Homicide, Reckless driving, Drugs, Leaving the Scene of an Accident); or
  • No more than two (2) moving violations in the last three (3) years in combination with one at-fault accidents; or
  • No more than three (3) other moving violations in the last three (3) years with no at-fault accidents; or
  • No more than two 2 at fault accidents in the last 3 years with no moving violations.

Violations –

  • A College Driver, while driving a college vehicle, who is convicted of violating any state law or local ordinance relating to motor vehicle traffic control, in this or any other state, shall have their driving record reviewed by the Insurance Specialists in the Purchasing Office.
  • A College Driver, who drives a college vehicle while their license is suspended, revoked, or canceled, in addition to having their driving privileges revoked, may be disciplined up to and including termination if an employee or the appropriate discipline if a student.
  • All motor vehicle or parking violations by a College Driver in a college vehicle shall be paid promptly by the College Driver. This does not prevent a College Driver from using the court process to contest motor vehicle or parking violations through established procedures.
  • Evidence of the transportation of firearms, ammunition, and/or explosives; alcoholic beverage consumption; use of illegal drugs or the use of tobacco may result in the forfeiture of future privileges for the user department or recognized student group and/or appropriate disciplinary action.

College 15-Passenger/Extended Van Utilization

In addition to all guidelines applicable to drivers of college vehicles, drivers of fifteen-passenger vans must comply with the following:

  • The College Driver is responsible for ensuring passenger occupancy does not exceed a total of nine individuals, including the driver.
  • The College Driver is responsible for ensuring each passenger utilizes seatbelts.
  • The College Driver is responsible to ensure no luggage is loaded on the top racks of the vehicle and no towing behind vehicle occurs.

College Mini Vans or Other Standard Sized Vehicles

In addition to all guidelines applicable to drivers of college vehicles, drivers of mini vans must comply with the following:

  • The College Driver is responsible for ensuring passenger occupancy in mini vans does not exceed a total of eight individuals, including the driver.
  • The College Driver is responsible for ensuring each passenger utilizes seatbelts.
  • The College Driver is responsible to ensure no luggage is loaded on the top racks of the vehicle and no towing behind vehicle occurs.

College Passenger Buses

In addition to all guidelines applicable to drivers of college vehicles, drivers of passenger buses must comply with the following state regulations:

  • The College Driver is responsible for ensuring passenger occupancy in passenger buses does not exceed the intended design.
  • The College Driver is responsible for ensuring each passenger utilizes seatbelts.
  • The College Driver is responsible to ensure no luggage is loaded on the top racks of the vehicle and no towing behind vehicle occurs.
  • The College Driver must obtain the proper Texas driver’s license appropriate for the intended usage of the vehicle.
    • 16-23 Passengers Bus: CDL Class C, with Passenger Endorsement GVWR UNDER 26,001
    • 25+ Passengers Bus: CDL Class B, with Passenger Endorsement GVWR OVER 26,001

Vehicle Reservation Procedure & Required Forms

  • Prior to requesting a vehicle, all drivers’ requirements must have been met and approval from Insurance Specialist received.
  • Vehicle reservations will be accepted by telephone or in person. Reservations should be made as far in advance as possible.
  • A Vehicle Reservation Form (VRF) must be obtained from the appropriate office and presented to the Maintenance Department to obtain a vehicle.
  • Additional travel related documents may be required depending upon the circumstances of the travel.

Related Travel Documents

College Sponsored Travel Request Form and Liability Waiver Form: These forms are required whenever students are traveling under College sponsorship/auspices regardless of the mode/means of transportation.