Central Campus Organizations

Central Campus Organizations

Texas Association of Chicanos in Higher Education (T.A.C.H.E.)

Description: We embrace the diversities of all Hispanic-American cultures to preserve the richness of heritage and pride. Activities include: Fiestas Patrias Celebration, and several community service projects. Our group aspires to promote self-development and self-determination of Latinos, and serves as a support network for the Latino student population at San Jacinto College Central.

President: Matthew Mata

Email: matam20@hotmail.com

Advisors: Dina Castillo, 281-998-6150, ext. 1402; Saul Zarco, 281-476-1501. ext. 1045

Email: dina.castillo@sjcd.edu

Email: saul.zarco@sjcd.edu

Website: www.facebook.com/tachesanjacintocollege

Membership: The group is open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: $5 per year (Students), $10 per year (State Members).

Meetings: Fridays at 12:30pm in C3.209.

National Society of Collegiate Scholars

Description: A national honor society that is hosted at two year and four year institutions that recognizes and elevates high achievers. NSCS provides career and graduate school connections, leadership and service opportunities and offers nearly half a million dollars in scholarships annually. NSCS members are deeply committed to scholarship and leadership.

President: Griselda Ibarra

Email: gibarra.88@gmail.com

Advisors: Tanya Madrigal, 281-476-1501, ext. 1099; Elisabeth Harthcock, 281-476-1501, ext. 1578

Email: tanya.madrigal@sjcd.edu

Email: elisabeth.harthcock@sjcd.edu

Website: https://www.facebook.com/nscs.sanjac

Membership: Upon invitation and completion of the application process.

Qualifications: Minimum San Jacinto College GPA of 3.4.

Dues: $40 per member annually (local dues: $10 and national dues: $30).

Meetings: Tuesdays at 4:30pm in C19.131.

Alpha Beta Gamma (Radiography - Freshmen)

Description: The ABG, through experience and education, promotes a better understanding of the art and science of medical radiography. ABG promotes education activities for members, sponsors, and Advisors to attend and participate in professional activities at the annual Texas State Radiology convention.

President: Richard Thamm

Email: richard.thamm@yahoo.com

Advisors: Cindra Daniels, 281-998-6150, ext. 1447; Phyllis Hooi, 281-998-6150, ext. 1449

Email: cindra.daniels@sjcd.edu

Email: phyllis.hooi@sjcd.edu

Group Email: alphabetagamma1314@gmail.com

Membership: Open to all Medical Radiography majors.

Dues: $10 per year.

Alpha Beta Gamma (Radiography - Sophomore)

Description: The ABG, through experience and education, promotes a better understanding of the art and science of medical radiography. ABG promotes education activities for members, sponsors, and Advisors to attend and participate in professional activities at the annual Texas State Radiology convention.

President: Taylor Monroe

Email: tmonroe1992@gmail.com

Advisors: Cindra Daniels, 281-998-6150, ext. 1447; Phyllis Hooi, 281-998-6150, ext. 1449

Email: cindra.daniels@sjcd.edu

Email: phyllis.hooi@sjcd.edu

Group Email: alphabetagamma1314@gmail.com

Membership: Open to all Medical Radiography majors.

Dues: $10 per year.

American Society of Interior Designers (ASID)

Description: To enlarge students' understanding of the present and future scope of interior design practice through field trips to historical and showcase homes, networking with professionals and involvement with the Houston A.S.I.D. chapter.

President: Kelly Harris

Email: khkustomkreations@yahoo.com

Advisor: David Vanover, 281-998-6150, ext. 1473; Karen Follett, 281-998-6150, ext. 1472

Email: david.vanover@sjcd.edu

Email: karen.follett@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all SJC Interior Design majors.

Dues: None.

Meetings: 10/10/13, 11/14/13, 2/13/14, 3/13/14 & 4/10/14 at 3:30pm in C17.230.

Audio Engineering

Description: To enlarge students' understanding of the present and future scope of interior design practice through field trips to historical and showcase homes, networking with professionals and involvement with the Houston A.S.I.D. chapter.

President: Thomas Grove

Email: tgrove521@gmail.com

Advisor: Angela Beyer, 281-998-6150, ext. 2146; Les Williams, 281-998-6150, ext. 1890

Email: angela.beyer@sjcd.edu

Email: les.williams@sjcd.edu

Group Email: contact@sjcaeo.org

Website: https://www.facebook.com/sjcaeo

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None.

Delta Rho Kappa (Nursing)

Description: The purpose of the Student Nursing Association is to promote and encourage cooperation between nursing students, faculty, and administration of San Jacinto College. The Student Nursing Association exists to promote brotherhood among members and to strive for academic excellence.

President: Michael Saturno

Email: medicplumber@gmail.com

Advisors: Maria Miranda, 281-998-6150, ext. 1299; Edward Nichols. 281-998-6150, ext. 1073

Email: maria.miranda@sjcd.edu

Email: edward.nichols@sjcd.edu

Membership: Any student enrolled in the SJC Associate Degree Nursing Program.

Dues: $40 per member annually (local dues $10 and national dues $30). Members must have membership with both the national and local chapters.

Eye Cons (Vision Care Technology)

Description: To promote vision care awareness in the community by participating in health fairs and support to the optometric and ophthalmic communities of South Texas. Participate in the American Cancer Society’s Annual Relay for Life, and provide a unified spirit among students and faculty and support to the students in the Vision Care Technology program.

President: Evelyn Calderon

Email: sfpotwins0102@yahoo.com

Advisor: Laura Cole, 281-998-6150, ext. 2086, Debra Clark, 281-478-3606

Email: laura.cole@sjcd.edu

Email: debra.clark@sjcd.edu

Membership: Any student interested in Vision Care.

Dues: $12 annually.

I-Cut (Cosmetology)

Description: To form a foundation for increasing proficiency and professionalism among its members. Assists in promotion of the department through education of said members whilst attending seminars, hosting guest speakers and partaking in various field trips.

President: Vanessa Gomez

Email: back2bueno@yahoo.com

Advisors: Danette Ehlinger, 281-998-6150, ext. 1496; Theresa Rudisell, 281-998-6150, 1497

Email: danette.ehlinger@sjcd.edu

Email: theresa.rudisell@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all students in the daytime cosmetology program and must participate in 50 percent of club activities.

Dues: $5 per year.

Meetings: 11/6/2013 & 12/4/13 at 3:30pm in C16.118.

Mu Lambda Theta (Medical Laboratory Technology)

Description: To provide opportunities and activities for students in the Medical Laboratory Field.

President: Feiye (Lisa) Xie

Email: lisa@paggeot.com

Advisors: Tina Fontenot, 281-998-6150, ext. 1337; Lindsey Everette, 281-998-6150, 1337

Email: tina.fontenot@sjcd.edua>

Email: lindsey.everette@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central Medical Laboratory students.

Dues: $10 per semester.

Phi Beta Lambda (Business)

Description: To provide additional opportunities for post-secondary and college students to develop vocational competencies for business and office occupations and business teacher education.

President: Kendy Castro

Email: casto.k5720@student.sanjac.edu

Advisors: Helen LaCour, 281-998-1650, ext. 1252; Don Nyberg, 281-476-1501, ext. 1251

Email: helen.lacour@sjcd.edu

Email: don.nyberg@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to any currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central student interested in the field of Business and American Enterprise.

Dues: $10.

San Jac SMILES

Description: The purpose of the SMILES organization is to promote the Dental Assisting program of San Jacinto College and allow interested students to engage in topics and issues relevant to the dental community.

President: Kimberly Ozane

Email: kimberlyzntc@gmail.com

Advisors: Rachael Obptande, 281-476-1501, ext. 1444

Email: rachael.obptande@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None.

SJC Educators

Description: A group for students studying and interested in education as a career. The group provides speakers and workshops on topics that are current to the education field.

President: Jamie Cook

Email: jamsdaisy@hotmail.com

Advisors: Judy Maima, 281-476-1501, ext. 1483

Email: judy.maima@sjcd.edu

Website: https://www.facebook.com/SjcEducatorsClub

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None.

Students of Safety (S.O.S)

Description: Promotes the advancement of the safety profession and safety education and to foster the professional well-being and development of its members within its campus & community.

Presdient: Jonathan Wiley

Email: jwiley_23@hotmail.com

Advisors: Alfred Sustaita Jr., 281-998-6150, ext. 1348

Email: alfred.sustaita@sjcd.edu

Membership: Minimum 2.0 GPA and currently enrolled at San Jac Central Campus.

Dues: $10 per semester.

Meetings: 11/6/13 & 12/4/13 at 5:00pm in C11.1021.

Texas State Teacher's Association

Description: We provide support and opportunities for students interested in a career in education. We attend district and state conventions with opportunities to network with current educators. Interaction with students in public schools is also encouraged.

President: Cassandra Guerra

Email: cassieguerra@yahoo.com

Advisors: Sherry Eska, 281-998-6150, ext. 1286 and Patty Steinke, 281-998-6150, ext. 1656

Email: sherry.eska@sjcd.edu

Email: patty.steinke@sjcd.edu

Website: https://www.facebook.com/tseasanjac

Membership: Open to any SJC student preparing for a career in or interested in education.

Dues: $30 per year; with dues, students get: discounts, magazines, newsletters, travel to conventions, insurance, and state and national membership.

Baptist Student Ministry

Description: Promote spiritual and moral growth of the individual student through a campus program that complements the church, and to present a positive Christian witness to the campus and community. Through involvement in the BSM, you can get involved in Bible studies, retreats, and conferences.

President: Crystal Bernal

Email: bernal.c0267@student.sanjac.edu

Advisors: Jeff Jackson, 281-998-6150, ext. 1256; Penelope Perry

Email: jeff.jackson@sjcd.edu

Email: Nellperry84@yahoo.com

Group Email: sanjacintobsm@gmail.com

Membership: All students currently enrolled at San Jacinto College Central campus.

Dues: None.

College Democrats

Description: Members participate in election campaigns, research the issues and candidates, and disseminate that knowledge to the student body.

President: Lacee Padron

Email: lacee.padron@yahoo.com

Advisor: William Parent, 281-476-1501, ext. 1294; Joseph Stromburg, 281-476-1501, ext. 1398

Email: william.parent@sjcd.edu

Email: joseph.stromburg@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all interested SJC students.

Dues: None.

Meetings: Mondays at 12:30pm in C2.222.

Creative Writers

Description: The Creative Writers promote the literary community at San Jacinto College Central, encouraging students to practice, perform, and celebrate the literary arts.

President: Ash Roberson

Email: argoldenhands@yahoo.com

Advisor: John Thornburg, 281-998-6150, ext. 1554; Robb Flynn, 281-998-6150, ext. 1244

Email: john.thornburg@sjcd.edu

Email: robb.flynn@sjcd.edu

Membership: San Jacinto College students.

Dues: None.

Gaming Society

Description: Helps promote the hobby of gaming to SJC students, faculty, staff, and alumni. Events Include: computer games, cards, and popular board and role-playing games.

President: Karisa Roberts

Email: karisa.kaye@gmail.com

Advisor: Mike Kent, 281-998-6150, ext. 1344

Email: mike.kent@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to any SJC student, faculty, or staff.

Dues: None.

Meetings: Saturdays from 10:00am to 2am in the C14 Cafeteria area.

Gay Straight Alliance (GSA)

Description: A way for those interested in promoting tolerance for Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender people to meet, share ideas, stories and organize activities.

President: Karina Soto

Email: karinavsoto@gmail.com

Advisors: Angie Langdon, 281-476-1877; Lilian Romero, 281-998-6150, ext. 1775

Email: angie.langdon@sjcd.edu

Email: lilian.romero@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to any currently enrolled San Jacinto College student.

Dues: None.

Meetings Mondays at 1:10pm in the C14 Cafeteria area and Thursdays at 2:30pm in the C14 cafeteria area.

Math and Engineering Club

Description: The purpose of the club is to provide information about math and engineering careers with guest speakers from various fields such as aerospace, nanotechnology, as well as a variety of typical engineering fields such as electrical and mechanical.  The club does building activities, number theory and friendly competitions.  It is a social group for anyone interested in math and/or engineering.

President: Joshua Hurt

Email: hurt.j1587@student.sanjac.edu

Advisors: Jennifer May, 281-998-6150, ext. 1744; Ryan Martinets, 281-998-6150, ext. 1019

Email: jennifer.may@sjcd.edu

Email: ryan.martinets@sjcd.edu

Website: https://www.facebook.com/MENGSJC314

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None

Meetings: 2:30pm in C20.261

Orpheus

Description: Gives students the opportunity to learn more about the art and process of conducting. Various topics and event planning will be discussed.

President: Adrian Loftin

Email: adrianloftin@gmail.com

Advisors: Joseph Schenck, 281-476-1501, ext. 1382; Lindsey Baggett, 404-277-5888

Email: joseph.schenck@sjcd.edu

Email: lindsey.baggett@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None.

Psych Club

Description: The Psych Club aims to educate its members, the general student body, and the community at large of psychological issues and themes prevelant in today's society.

President: Travis Terrell

Email: terrell.t3672@student.sanjac.edu

Advisors: Stefanie Mitchell, 281-998-1501, ext. 1710; Christi Boren, 713-530-6187

Email: stefanie.mitchell@sjcd.edu

Email: christi.boren@sjcd.edu

Membership: Any SJC student with an interest in psychology.

Dues: None.

Meetings: Tuesdays at 1:15pm in C2.209.

SJC Cycling Club

Description: Provides an opportunity for cycling enthusiasts to meet and ride from the SJCC campus, promoting a lifestyle of fitness and fellowship.

President: Adam Garza

Email: garzaad@gmail.com

Advisors: Ruben Ramirez, 281-476-1501, ext. 1666; Karen Purpera, 281-476-1501, ext. 2706

Email: ruben.ramirez@sjcd.edu

Email: karen.purpera@sjcd.edu

Membership: All student currently enrolled at San Jacinto College Central campus.

Dues: None.

SJCC Orchestra

Description: Encourages students to learn and express themselves though the fine art of music; the SJCC orchestra hosts student concert events throughout the semester and academic year.

President: Lucero Urquieta

Email: lucreourquieta@gmail.com

Advisors: Lindsey Baggett, 404-277-5888; Joseph Schenck, 281-476-1501, ext. 1382

Email: lindsey.baggett@sjcd.edu

Email: joseph.schenck@sjcd.edu

Membership: Open to all currently enrolled San Jacinto College Central students.

Dues: None.